Our People

Focused Education Resources is a not-for-profit, shared services organization dedicated to supporting excellence in K-12 education in British Columbia. 

Anchor link: https://focusedresources.ca/fr/node/36764#leadership
Link field url: #leadership


Focused Educations’s Board of Directors provides strategic leadership and K-12 expertise to guide our pursuit of delivering on our mission, achieving our vision and living our values every day.

NamePosition on BoardJob TitleDistrict/Organization Name
Mark PearmainChairSuperintendentSD 36 Surrey 
Angus WilsonVice ChairSuperintendentSD 75 Mission
Teresa DownsDirectorSuperintendent / CEOSD 42 Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows
Trina CassidyDirectorSecretary-TreasurerSD 73 Kamloops Thompson
Ray VelestukDirectorSecretary-Treasurer / CFOSD 34 Abbotsford
Jennifer WrayDirectorA/Assistant Deputy Minister & Ministry Chief Information OfficerMinistry of Education and Child Care
Melanie StewartDirectorAssociate Deputy MinisterMinistry of Education and Child Care


Mark Pearmain

Mark Pearmain

Surrey School District

Anchor link: https://focusedresources.ca/fr/node/36764#staff
Link field url: #staff


The Focused Education team has honed our K-12 expertise to provide members with focused, value-driven benefits. We are always pleased to connect and welcome members’ feedback, insights and questions.

NameJob Title
Kelly PollackCEO
Lynne BouchardEvaluation Services Lead
Andy CantyDirector of Technology Services
Maureen CiarnielloDirector of Education Services
Heather DalyAssociate Director of Education Services
Michael FrostDirector of Procurement Services
Laura GrantEducation Services Coordinator
Asad HaidariSourcing Lead
Rajiv KarimanSourcing Lead
Jasmine LeePrivacy Assessment Analyst
Anne MacDougallSenior Administrator
Peter PowellTechnology Lead
Rakesh ThobhaniController
Michael YuManager of Member Services


Kelly Pollack

Kelly Pollack

Focused Education Resources
Anchor link: https://focusedresources.ca/fr/node/36764#advisory-committees
Link field url: #advisory-committees

Advisory Committees

Focused Education’s Advisory Committees consist of K-12 sector leaders who provide strategic insights and feedback on policies, processes and procedures.

Anchor link: https://focusedresources.ca/fr/node/36764#learning-advisory
Link field url: #learning-advisory

Learning Resource Advisory Committee

Our Learning Resource Advisory Committee provides guidance around policies, procedures and projects to Focused Education’s Education Services team. This includes identifying opportunities for evaluation and licensing of learning resources, as well as professional learning offerings.

Name District/Organization Name Job Title
Jarrod Bell SD 60 Peace River North Director of Instruction
Trent Dolgopol SD 06 Rocky Mountain Director of Instruction,  Indigenous Education, Technology and Innovative Learning
Carole Gordon BCTF liaison First Vice-President, BCTF
Matthew Monkman SD 92 Nisga'a Superintendent and Chief Executive Officer
Kathy Puharich SD 36 Surrey Director of Instruction, Priority Practices
Rudy Terpstra SD 69 Qualicum  Director of Instruction
David Vandergugten SD 42 Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows Assistant Superintendent, Chair LRA
Nick Poeschek Ministry of Education and Child Care  Director, Curriculum and Classroom Assessment
Anchor link: https://focusedresources.ca/fr/node/36764#procurement-advisory
Link field url: #procurement-advisory

Procurement Services Advisory Committee

Our Procurement Services Advisory Committee provides guidance on Focused Education’s sector-wide joint procurement services. The Committee assesses the current environment and advises on strategies and initiatives to optimize our spectrum of procurement services.

Name District/Organization Name Job Title
Simon Ayres SD 36 Surrey Assistant Secretary-Treasurer
Ray Miller SD 73 Kamloops-Thompson Purchasing Manager
Heather Simm SD 20 Kootenay-Columbia Director of Operations
Dave Swystun SD 23 Central Okanagan Learning Technology Manager
Anchor link: https://focusedresources.ca/fr/node/36764#technology-advisory
Link field url: #technology-advisory

Technology Advisory Committee

Our Technology Advisory Committee provides expert insights into new and emerging K-12 technology-related needs and opportunities. The Committee’s guidance helps ensure Focused Education’s member offerings leverage the latest technologies and support best practices.

Name District/Organization Name Job Title
Cody Henschel SD 63 Saanich Director of Information Technology
Karman O'Brien SD 34 Abbotsford Director Information Technology, Chair TAC
Ted Owens SD 54 Bulkley Valley Supervisor of Information Technology Services
Wayne Pinette SD 73 Kamloops/Thompson Director of Information Technology Services
Jennifer Roberts SD 46 Sunshine Coast Assistant Superintendent
Morris Scarpino SD 57 Prince George District Technology Support Coordinator
Stephen Whiffin SD 43 Coquitlam Assistant Superintendent & CIO
Matt Williams SD 35 Langley Director of Information Technology & CIO
Stacey Wilkerson Ministry of Education and Child Care Executive Director Student Information, Data & Education Network Services


Member Access

Get access to enhanced member-only content with a user account:

  • Member Directory
  • Evaluated Resources
  • PIA Templates & Resources
  • Procurement Agreements