Muin and the Seven Bird Hunters

Harris, P.; Marshall, L.; Marshall, M.
Muin the bear awakens from hibernation and begins her journey through the seasons. As she travels, she is hunted by seven birds but she evades them until the fall when she finally succumbs. As the year closes, a ceremony is held to thank the spirits and Muin’s spirit enters that of another bear in hibernation. The cycle starts over when that bear awakens and starts its journey. This compelling Canadian picture book for K-7, written in English and Micmac, explores complex subjects such as death, belief in the afterlife, spirits, and souls, and explores the oral traditions of the Mi’kmaw, the seasonal travels of the stars, hunting, and the life cycle.
Indigenous, Novel
Arts Education
  • K-7